CCTS sectors and timeline 2023-2027: what is final and what is draft

India notified the Carbon Credit Trading Scheme in June 2023 and added an offset mechanism in December 2023. Final targets for 2025-26 and 2026-27 now cover 490 obligated entities: 282 notified in October 2025 and 208 in January 2026. Iron and steel is still a revised draft listing 255 units, and we found no final fertiliser targets; the baseline year is 2023-24.
How did CCTS get here?
The legal base is a 2022 amendment to the Energy Conservation Act, 2001, as ICAP summarises. The scheme itself, S.O. 2825(E), was notified on 28 June 2023.
The Ministry of Power notifies the scheme, and the Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE) administers it. The Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) notifies sector targets under the Environment (Protection) Act.
For a short overview of both mechanisms, see our Carbon Market (CCTS) page.
Timeline, 2023 to 2026
| Date | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 28 June 2023 | CCTS notified, S.O. 2825(E) | Gazette via BEE |
| 19 December 2023 | Offset mechanism added, S.O. 5369(E) | Gazette via BEE |
| July 2024 | BEE Detailed Procedure for Compliance Mechanism | ICAP |
| 27 March 2025 | Offset Detailed Procedure v1.0 and mangrove methodology take effect | BEE |
| 16 April 2025 | Draft targets for four sectors, 282 entities | ICAP |
| 23 June 2025 | Draft targets for iron and steel, fertiliser, refining, petrochemicals, textiles | ICAP |
| 8 October 2025 | Final targets: aluminium, cement, chlor-alkali, pulp and paper (282 entities) | ICAP, PIB |
| 13 January 2026 | Final targets: refineries, petrochemicals, textiles, secondary aluminium (208 entities) | PIB |
| 27 February 2026 | CERC regulations on purchase and sale of CCCs notified | Mondaq |
| 21 March 2026 | Indian Carbon Market portal launched | All India Radio |
| 26 June 2026 | Revised draft targets for 255 iron and steel units | LKS, Energetica India |
| 7 July 2026 | BEE methodology list updated; 12 approved offset methodologies | BEE |
Which sectors are in, and at what stage?
The thresholds below are minimum annual energy use, from ICAP's scheme page. Entities are moving across from the Perform, Achieve and Trade (PAT) scheme using the same thresholds.
| Sector | Status (8 Oct 2026) | Threshold (toe per year) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aluminium | Final, October 2025 | 7,500 | ICAP, PIB |
| Cement | Final, October 2025 | 30,000 (grinding 10,000) | ICAP, PIB |
| Chlor-alkali | Final, October 2025 | 12,000 | ICAP, PIB |
| Pulp and paper | Final, October 2025 | 7,500 | ICAP, PIB |
| Petroleum refining | Final, January 2026 | 90,000 | PIB |
| Petrochemicals | Final, January 2026 | 1,00,000 | PIB |
| Textiles | Final, January 2026 | 3,000 | PIB |
| Secondary aluminium | Final, January 2026 | Not stated by ICAP | PIB |
| Iron and steel | Revised draft, June 2026 (255 units) | 20,000 | LKS, Down To Earth |
| Fertiliser | Draft, June 2025; no final found | Not stated by ICAP | ICAP, Outlook Business |
The PIB release of 22 January 2026 puts the compliance mechanism at 490 obligated entities. That is 282 from the first notification plus 208 from the second.
What is the status of iron and steel?
MoEFCC issued a revised draft on 26 June 2026, made public on 2 July, according to LKS. It lists 255 units and invites objections within 60 days.
Energetica India reports that the draft sets targets for 2025-26 and 2026-27 against a 2023-24 baseline. Down To Earth reads it as compliance starting in 2026-27, with reductions of 2.1% to 9.3%.
We found no final steel notification as of 8 October 2026. Treat every steel number as a draft. Our steel guide covers what the draft means for plants.
Compliance years and how the cycle runs
The first targets cover 2025-26 and 2026-27, with 2023-24 as the baseline. ICAP notes the first four sectors' targets are back-loaded: about 40% of the cut in year one and 60% in year two.
- Reporting: covered entities report within four months of the year end, that is by 31 July.
- Verification: by a carbon verification agency accredited by BEE.
- Banking: unlimited; borrowing is not allowed.
- Shortfall: CPCB can impose environmental compensation at twice the average CCC price for that year.
- Next targets: ICAP says new targets will be announced every three years.
When does trading start?
The Grid Controller of India runs the registry, and CCCs trade on power exchanges regulated by CERC. CERC's regulations were notified on 27 February 2026.
In February 2026 a BEE director told Business Standard, as cited by Outlook Business, that credits would be issued in October 2026. He expected trading from November to January.
We found no confirmed first trade as of 8 October 2026. Watch BEE, CERC and exchange notices.
What this means for plantation
None of these targets can be met with trees. Each target measures a unit's own emissions per tonne of product.
Plantation still has separate jobs: green belt conditions, mine reclamation, CSR, BRSR and voluntary net-zero claims as a supplement. Our mandate checker helps sort which rules apply to a site.
How Grow Billion Trees helps
We work with 400+ corporate clients on green belts, mine reclamation and CSR plantation across 14 states, tracked on GreenTrack. For non-obligated companies, we design mangrove sites around the approved offset methodology, without any credit promise. Programmes are priced per project after a site survey; plan a programme to begin.
Further reading: How the CCTS offset mechanism works · CCTS targets for cement plants
Frequently Asked Questions
How many entities have final CCTS targets?
PIB puts the total at 490 obligated entities: 282 notified in October 2025 and 208 in January 2026.
Is iron and steel covered yet?
Only in draft. A revised draft of 26 June 2026 lists 255 units; we found no final notification as of 8 October 2026.
What about fertiliser plants?
Fertiliser was in the June 2025 draft. We found no final fertiliser targets, and a February 2026 report said it was not in the initial phase.
What are the compliance years?
2025-26 and 2026-27, measured against a 2023-24 baseline. ICAP says new targets will follow every three years.
Has carbon credit trading begun?
CERC's rules are in place. BEE indicated issuance in October 2026 and trading from November; we found no confirmed first trade yet.
Can plantation help a plant meet its target?
No. Targets measure the unit's own emissions per tonne of product, so trees do not reduce them or count towards them.
Sources: S.O. 2825(E), CCTS 2023 · S.O. 5369(E), offset amendment · ICAP: India notifies emission intensity targets · ICAP: Indian Carbon Credit Trading Scheme · PIB: GEI targets for 208 more industries (22 Jan 2026) · LKS: iron and steel revised draft · Energetica India: iron and steel draft · Down To Earth: iron and steel moves closer to CCTS · Mondaq: CERC CCC Regulations, 2026 · All India Radio: ICM portal launch · BEE: approved offset methodologies · Outlook Business: first carbon trading programme. Last updated: October 2026. Rules change; check the latest notification before you rely on any detail.





Leave a comment