United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a set of 17 goals that aim to address global challenges such as poverty, inequality, climate change, and peace and justice. These goals were adopted by all United Nations member states in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

  1. No Poverty: To eradicate extreme poverty and reduce inequality.

  2. Zero Hunger: To end hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture.

  3. Good Health and Well-being: To ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages.

  4. Quality Education: To ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.

  5. Gender Equality: To achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

  6. Clean Water and Sanitation: To ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.

  7. Affordable and Clean Energy: To ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all.

  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth: To promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all.

  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure: To build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization, and foster innovation.

  10. Reduced Inequalities: To reduce inequality within and among countries.

  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities: To make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable.

  12. Responsible Consumption and Production: To ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.

  13. Climate Action: To take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts.

  14. Life Below Water: To conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas, and marine resources for sustainable development.

  15. Life on Land: To protect, restore and promote the sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, forests, and biodiversity.

  16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions: To promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.

  17. Partnerships for the Goals: To strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development.

The SDGs serve as a blueprint for a better and more sustainable future for all, and call for collective efforts by governments, civil society, the private sector, and individuals.

Trending Today

1 of 4

Most Popular

1 of 5